How I Got to Love Science

A month ago, I had a great conversation with a Protestant pastor on our way home from visiting Museums in Manila.  Why is it that every time we talk about God, time runs so fast?  As if time is never enough?

During the course of our talk I shared with him one thing I gained when I began receiving God in my life: a newfound appreciation for nature.  He liked my story, he said, and told me to write about it.  So this post.

You see, I’m a literature person.  Conversely, though not surprisingly, I’m bad at natural sciences.  Fact is, I never cared about math and science at school.  But no student can escape math and science, even if she tried her hardest to avoid them.  In UP, I took up the required S&T courses with a heavy heart, and it didn’t surprise me at all that I had barely passing marks.  (In high school, I got 78 in Algebra, and 78 and 79 in Trigonometry.  How I managed to get 80 on the last quarter remains a mystery.)  I didn’t really appreciate natural sciences as much as literature, history, and art.  Science, for me, lacked heart and soul.  Science answered everything but what for me was the most important question: so?

One afternoon, in NatSci, the guest professor showed us “math in nature” – enlarged images taken using powerful microscopes and how the Renaissance masters followed mathematical formula to create the masterpieces that we consider today standards of beauty.  I was amazed.  The design of everything in nature had logic, like how the honeycomb is hexagonal because the shape is most efficient.  Truly, math is everywhere.  Math is beautiful.  I gained an appreciation of math and science from there.  I saw that everything is complex and intricately and logically designed.

But before long this interest waned.  Soon, I was back to the girl who had no patience over things that don’t have soul.

Then, God made me fall in love with Him.  Slowly and without me realizing it, science became the manifestation of God’s majesty.  As I listened to the daily readings and homilies, my eyes began to see how God is in everything.  How eggs turn to babies.  The beauty of His creatures under the microscope.  Evolution.  Natural selection.  Even my congenital bilateral ptosis of the eyes – the cause of a lifetime of self-loathing – became a beautiful work: who knew it is a malfunction in neurotransmitters while I was forming in Mama’s womb?  My favorite is how a seed has to die first before it becomes alive to its true form – an allegory to how we all have to die and be reborn before we can be with Jesus.  God is indeed a genius: a scientist, an engineer, a mathematician, an author, a veterinarian… a gardener!

Now, seeing that God has His fingers on everything, everything has a purpose.  Everything has heart and soul.  Now, everything has the answer to every “so.”

Leave a Reply

