Double Chocolate Pancakes

Contrary to popular belief, I am not a vegetarian for health and fitness purposes. In fact, I have a helpless and hopeless love affair with all things sweet and indulgent. If it’s legal to marry chocolate, I will.

November last year, I had an obsessive one-morning-stand with then-new breakfast offering from McDonald’s: double chocolate pancakes. It’s two pieces of pancakes with unhealthy drizzling of chocolate syrup and sprinkling of crushed Oreos. I ate it just once: it was too sweet and one-dimensional. But it seriously gave me nightmares. All I could think of was making a dairy-free and egg-free version once my 21-day Daniel Fast in December was over. But when the 21 days were done, I still had to finish all the New Year’s fruits and soy milk in the fridge so I didn’t have the opportunity to live my pancake fantasy.

Then, last night Mama said she wanted pancakes for breakfast. Being Filipinos, my family is the rice-for-every-meal type of eaters, so Mama asking for a Western breakfast happens once in a blue moon and which I’m just too happy to oblige. Finally! The opportunity for my double chocolate pancake dreams.

 
(Okay, so it doesn’t look as neat as McDonald’s but I swear it’s better in so many ways.)

Here are the ingredients and methods for 4 servings:

For the pancakes

  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 1/4 cup soy milk
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil

For the chocolate syrup

  • 4 pieces Malagos 65% Dark Chocolate (purchased from The Gift Farm)
  • 2-4 tbsp soy milk (depending on the consistency you’re going for)

And…

  • 8 pieces mini Oreos, crushed (Oreos are accidentally vegan, FYI)

Method:

  1. Heat a slightly greased non-stick pan over low fire.
  2. Mix together dry ingredients.
  3. Add in soy milk and oil and stir until just combined. (Every pancake-loving person knows the commandment: Thou shalt not overmix.)
  4. Ladle 1/8 cup batter to the heated pan. Flip when bubbles form.
  5. Plate. The recipe makes 8 pancakes. Serve 2 for each person.
  6. Using the bain marie method, melt the chocolate with the soy milk.  Adjust liquid according to your personal preference. (I improvised using a bowl over a saucepan with simmering water.)
  7. Drizzle chocolate over pancakes and sprinkle with crushed Oreos.
  8. Enjoy!

That’s basically it. Easy, peasy vegetarian double chocolate pancakes. I love the darkness of the chocolate syrup, unlike the sweet-on-sweet-on-sweet McDonalds version.

Heaven is dessert for breakfast.

Leave a Reply

