A Visit at Ayala Museum

February 4, 2017

As a professional librarian, I’ve always understood the importance of librarians, archives and museums (LAMs).  But compared to libraries and archives, for some weird reason, I didn’t really appreciate museums as much.

That is, until I became part of the city museum technical working group and I visited the National Museum of the Philippines (Manila), National Commission for Culture and the Arts (Intramuros, Manila) and the NFA Grains Industry Museum (Cabanatuan City) last year. I realized there’s a hidden love for museums in me after all.

So, I made visiting museums one of my goals this year.  And on February 4, I kicked off my museum visits with one of the best the Philippines has to offer: Ayala Museum.

(The original purpose of my February 4 luwas is to meet up with my UP friends but since I would be in Makati already, I thought why not, right?  I’m surprisingly practical.  Plus please don’t be surprised I can go on trips on my own.)

So this is Ayala Museum.  (Insert “So this is the ship they say is unsinkable” look.)  The entrance fee is P225 for local residents.  (That means Filipino, just to make things clear.  Don’t make the same humiliating, ridiculous mistake I did insisting I’m a non-resident because I don’t live in Makati.)

Because the museum opens at 9 and I arrived 10 minutes earlier.

So…

Taking pictures is allowed only at the second floor where the dioramas showcasing Philippine history are situated.  I love dioramas, especially the intricate detailing.  Since I consider myself a history buff, I spent like one hour at the 2nd floor re-learning stuff I learned in school.

At the 3rd floor are the exhibit of Juan Luna, Fernando Amorsolo and Ferdinand Zobel paintings and the museum shop.  The guard asked if I was an art student.  (I wonder if I looked like a student or I looked like a starving artist… that happened to be a student.)  I realized 1) I’m not into abstract art at all, and 2) I love Amorsolo.

The 4th floor houses archaeological artifacts like ceramics and golds, as well as native textile – which was my favorite in the floor because I was amazed to find out that the weaving patterns are actually a form of storytelling about how man is a mediator between God and earth.  I also learned that there’s actually an archaeological site here at Nueva Ecija: Arubo Cave.  I’ll find it one day.

I spent two hours exploring the Ayala Museum and enjoyed every second of it.  One thing I failed to do was go to the Filipinas Heritage Library at the 6th floor but I will someday.

I love museums.

👍

Leave a Reply

